Texas Cosmology Center

TCC News

2012  |  2011  |  2010  |  2009



28 June:

Eiichiro Komatsu shares $500,000 Gruber Cosmology Prize with WMAP satellite team, for fundamental discoveries on the age, make-up, shape, and origin of the universe
The Gruber Foundation and the International Astronomical Union recently announced that the members of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) team, including University of Texas at Austin professor Eiichiro Komatsu, are the recipients of the 2012 Gruber Cosmology Prize. Komatsu is the director of the university's Texas Cosmology Center.

1 June:

Karl Gebhardt to become the next TCC Director
Upon the departure of Eiichiro Komatsu, the founding director of Texas Cosmology Center (TCC), Karl Gebhardt will be appointed as the next TCC Director.

14 May:

MPA-TCC Workshop on Near Infrared Background and the Epoch of Reionization to be held May 14-15
The Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik (MPA) and the Texas Cosmology Center (TCC) will jointly host a workshop on "Near Infrared Background and the Epoch of Reionization," where the latest experimental results of direct and indirect measurements of the near infrared background will be presented, and the participants will discuss their implications for the epoch of reionization and galaxy formation.

7 May:

TCC Workshop on Dark Matter Signatures in the Gamma-ray Sky to be held May 7-8
The Texas Cosmology Center (TCC) will host a workshop on "Dark Matter Signatures in the Gamma-ray Sky," where the participants will discuss the recent progress in our understanding of the nature of Dark Matter, especially using indirect detection methods such as gamma-rays in the sky currently mapped by the Fermi-LAT experiment.